The Nuer Didn’t Have Shin Splints

#writeandrun31
Day12

True to form, after a weekend filled with Joe studying, he’s on Night Shift until Friday morning in the Intensive Care Unit negates a whopping 13 hour shift of making decisions that will keep patients alive. He’s manage to text once already, a quick hello to check in with me after the gym, saying that tonight will be busy.

Ethnography
I received a long awaited parcel in the post recently; The Nuer by E. E. Evans Pritchard. I first ‘met’ the Nuer during my undergraduate degree in Social Anthropology at the University of St. Andrews and I’ve been dying to get my inquisitive hands on the ethnography. I’m suspicious that it’s no longer being published, but it’s a must for any SocAnth student, and my copy has come from J. Evans of UCL. VERY exciting. I’ve no idea who he (she) is, but I love the idea of a book having a life history. Who loved it before I do? Did they carry it everywhere, was it studied, read in the morning and at night?

The Nuer fascinate me in particular because of the interconnection between ecology and their culture is fascinating (they were cattle pastoralists, influence high sneaked into their labels for humans!) and then they were somewhat more resistant to British dominance than other people’s. The British needed Evans Pritchard to help them understand and thus gain control over this reluctant group, and his ethnography reads explicitly for that purpose.

writeandrun31
Day 12
I had a great Body Pump tonight! True to my promise, I promised myself to cross train and so pushed myself hard with the weights tonight. It was a different instructor than usual, which was a pity because I really like Monday night’s instructor!!

But I broke my promise. Knowing Joe wouldn’t be waiting for me at home, I thought I’d give the treadmill a try. Silly, I know. I think I shattered my shins. I was going to stop at 10 minutes, but I was distracted by the football on the telly, so decided I’d stop at 15 minutes, but by then, I thought I might as well keep going. I did refrain from bumping up the speed every few minutes, so totalled a 3.54km run in 20 minutes.

Untameable Hair
Wanting to keep the silky smoothness from yesterday’s date, I didn’t wash it until after the gym. Rather it’s been tied up all day! Not bad.

Leave a Reply

