Cold Runnings

#writeandrun31
Day 21

Social media exploded last night with running in cold weather. To prove me right or to contradict me, who am I to judge? But I’m still undeniably against running outside in such extremities. These guys, however, seem to relish the cold, snowy days and the unique runs they offer. They boast about muscle seizing and lungs bursting because of the cold.

There are even organised races for those crazy people who enjoy pushing their limits in below zero conditions. I don’t know, unless you live in an area that’s like that (and no, Aberdeen’s annual -2C doesn’t count) and so there’s no other way (there’s always a treadmill, but anything over 5K get boring for me) to run, then it’s ludicrous.

I’ve already admitted that I’m a seasonal cyclist and I’m ok with that. There’s absolutely no way you’ll get me out when there’s any ice on the road. Not only is it dangerous for club runs, it’s also dangerous going solo. If you have a slip or skid and get badly hurt on isolated aberdeenshire roads, you’re stuffed. Hello hypothermia. But I love running outside when it is a cold, crisp day. There’s nothing better than running with a low sun, sunglasses on and wrapped up. But, have you ever come back from a cold run and your skin is a patchwork of bright orange and pinks that sting so bad? Well, this blog suggests that’s us just one step away from frost bite. Is that reason number one to move somewhere hot? Mmmm… yes, please.

writeandrun31
Day 21
A cold is working on me. I feel it under my skin and in my nose. So it is difficult not to discourage myself from getting active today, but I realise not exercising could become a habit when feeling slightly under the weather. Nothing hurts, I’ve had enough sleep and I ate my weight in pizza last night, so I’m well fuelled on carbs. I’m now faced with a question: rest day or lazy day? Last night was a peaceful swim, the day before Body Pump and before that, rest day. So today, I’m just being lazy… time for spin!

Batman
Joe has me hooked onto a podcast called This American Life. It’s a weekly, hour long podcast which chooses different themes per week and puts together different stories. It’s a unique format that they say is

like movies for radio. There are people in dramatic situations. Things happen to them. There are funny moments and emotional moments and—hopefully—moments where the people in the story say interesting, surprising things about it all. It has to be surprising. It has to be fun.

This week is about a guy who doesn’t feel blind, but is medically diagnosed as blind. He has learned to construct the world around him using echo location through clicking using his tongue. He has had an interesting life, where his mum was marginalised by society for encouraging her son to develop socially unacceptable habits (the clicking) to help him trust his senses and navigate. Even as a child, he would ride his bike and climb trees.

Untameable Hair
Whispy and tucked into my scarf… It’s cold!

2015/01/img_7885.jpg

One thought on “Cold Runnings

  1. I agree with you on TAL. What a great podcast and what a great way to make a run fly by. Don’t agree with running in the cold…I love it. I guess one agree and one disagree is not so bad.

Leave a comment